Tyler Van Dyke on preseason award watch lists including The Maxwell Award

CORAL GABLES, Fla. University of Miami quarterback Tyler Van Dyke is on the prestigious Maxwell Award Watch List, as announced Monday by the Maxwell Football Club.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the College Player of the Year since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert “Tiny” Maxwell, a former standout at the Swarthmore College and a renowned sportswriter and football official.

The Perfect Storm, Turnover Chain! Mario Cristobal returning his talents to Miami, Florida with tons of work to do

A 6-foot-4, 224-pound third-year sophomore, Van Dyke is one of just 11 ACC players on the preseason list for the 86th Maxwell Award. The Glastonbury, Conn., native is also among just 16 sophomores who made the cut.

The 2021 ACC Rookie of the Year, Van Dyke threw for 2,931 yards and 25 touchdowns in just 10 games, nine of which he started. A five-time ACC Rookie of the Week, Van Dyke completed 62.3 percent of his passes, the sixth-best single-season mark in program history, and threw only five interceptions.

In addition, Van Dyke became the first Power Five quarterback since LSU’s Joe Burrow in 2019 to throw for 300-plus yards and three-plus touchdowns in six straight games.

Three Hurricanes have claimed the Maxwell Award: Vinny Testaverde in 1986, Gino Torretta in 1992 and Ken Dorsey in 2001.



Camron Ghorbi – Miami Hurricanes athletics contributed to this column

Author: West Lamy

My passport requires no photograph. Experienced play-by-play broadcaster and multimedia sports journalist with years of producing and covering sports. WORLDWIDEWEST is a journey; in this journey my feet don't get blisters, but my shoes do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *