Jacksonville Jaguars – Myles Jack and Tampa Bay Buccaneers – Mike Evans nominees for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award

The NFL announced today the 32 nominees for the WALTER PAYTON NFL MAN OF THE YEAR AWARD PRESENTED BY NATIONWIDE. Representing the best of the NFL’s commitment to philanthropy and community impact, each player was selected as his team’s Man of the Year and is now eligible to win the national award. Considered the league’s most prestigious honor, the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide recognizes an NFL player for outstanding community service activities off the field, as well as excellence on the field. First established in 1970, the national award was renamed in 1999 after the late Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back WALTER PAYTON.

Myles Jack Walter Payton Man of the Year nominee

“The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award is the League’s most prestigious honor and these 32 men represent their many teammates who do incredible things in their communities,” said NFL Commissioner ROGER GOODELL. “Their unwavering commitment to their hometowns and team communities embodies Walter’s spirit of giving back in a way that makes us all incredibly proud of the work they are doing every day.”

The Dolphins make me cry, Duke Johnson is back at Hard Rock Stadium and “the worm” made an endzone appearance

For the fourth year in a row, all 32 team winners will be highlighted as nominees and recognized for their important work during the week leading up to Super Bowl LVI. The 2021 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year will be announced during NFL Honors, a primetime awards special to air nationally the Thursday before Super Bowl LVI on ABC.

All 32 nominees will receive up to a $40,000 donation in their name to their charity of choice. The winner of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award will receive a $250,000 donation to the charity of their choice. All donations are courtesy of the NFL Foundation and Nationwide.

“The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year nominees continue to impress and inspire us, and Nationwide is proud to recognize their exemplary commitment to giving back and making a difference,” said RAMON JONES, Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer at Nationwide. “It is an honor to showcase their stories and support the charitable organizations that benefit from the extraordinary efforts of these community champions.”

Fans are encouraged to participate in Nationwide’s 7th annual Charity Challenge, a social media campaign designed to support and promote team nominees. Fans can vote on Twitter by using #WPMOYChallenge followed by their favorite nominee’s last name or Twitter handle. The player whose unique hashtag is used the most between Dec. 7 and Jan. 17 will receive a $25,000 contribution to their charity of choice, while the second and third place finishers will receive $10,000 and $5,000 donations, all courtesy of Nationwide. Hashtag information and official rules can be found at nfl.com/manoftheyear

Beginning in 2017, the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year trophy silhouette came to life in uniform elements to further recognize past award winners and current nominees. The three current players who have won the award—J.J. WATT, CALAIS CAMPBELL and RUSSELL WILSON —continue to wear a Man of the Year patch on their jerseys to recognize their outstanding contributions to the game and to their communities. All 2021 nominees will wear a Man of the Year helmet decal beginning Week 14 and continuing through the end of the season in recognition of their accomplishments on and off the field.

Each of these players support many different causes, ranging from social justice work, supporting veterans, fighting homelessness and more. For more information on the nominees and the award, visit NFL.com/manoftheyear.

Below is a list of the 2021 nominees:

Arizona Cardinals Kelvin Beachum
Atlanta Falcons Mike Davis
Baltimore Ravens Bradley Bozeman
Buffalo Bills Harrison Phillips
Carolina Panthers DJ Moore
Chicago Bears Jimmy Graham
Cincinnati Bengals Sam Hubbard
Cleveland Browns Denzel Ward
Dallas Cowboys Dak Prescott
Denver Broncos Justin Simmons
Detroit Lions Jason Cabinda
Green Bay Packers Aaron Jones
Houston Texans Justin Reid
Indianapolis Colts Kenny Moore II
Jacksonville Jaguars Myles Jack
Kansas City Chiefs Tyrann Mathieu
Las Vegas Raiders Darren Waller
Los Angeles Chargers Corey Linsley
Los Angeles Rams Andrew Whitworth
Miami Dolphins Jerome Baker
Minnesota Vikings Anthony Barr
New England Patriots Lawrence Guy
New Orleans Saints Cameron Jordan
New York Giants Logan Ryan
New York Jets Quinnen Williams
Philadelphia Eagles Jason Kelce
Pittsburgh Steelers Cameron Heyward
San Francisco 49ers Arik Armstead
Seattle Seahawks Tyler Lockett
Tampa Bay Buccaneers Mike Evans
Tennessee Titans Derrick Henry
Washington Football Team Jonathan Allen

Author: West Lamy

My passport requires no photograph. Experienced play-by-play broadcaster and multimedia sports journalist with years of producing and covering sports. WORLDWIDEWEST is a journey; in this journey my feet don't get blisters, but my shoes do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *