Erik Spoelstra named one the 15 Greatest Coaches in NBA History

NEW YORK, NY – The National Basketball Association today unveiled the 15 Greatest Coaches in NBA History as part of the continuing celebration of the league’s 75th Anniversary Season.  The list was selected by a panel of 43 current and former NBA head coaches in collaboration with the National Basketball Coaches Association, which is led by President Rick Carlisle, the head coach of the Indiana Pacers, and Executive Director & General Counsel David Fogel.

The Silencer, LeBron James’ celebration, physically or without words this season

The 15 Greatest Coaches in NBA History, as revealed on TNT, are listed below in alphabetical order.


Red Auerbach

K.C. Jones

Pat Riley

Larry Brown

Steve Kerr*

Doc Rivers*

Chuck Daly

Don Nelson

Jerry Sloan

Red Holzman

Gregg Popovich*

Erik Spoelstra*

Phil Jackson

Jack Ramsay

Lenny Wilkens

*Active NBA Head Coaches

The 15 honorees have collectively won more than 14,000 regular-season games, guided teams to 45 NBA championships and earned 16 NBA Coach of the Year awards across more than 300 head coaching seasons.  See attached or click here for more information about each coach.

The voters were asked to select the 15 Greatest Coaches in NBA History without ranking them.  The panelists were not allowed to vote for themselves.  Click here for the voting panel, which was composed of all 30 current NBA head coaches and 13 former NBA head coaches.  The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm Ernst & Young LLP.

Author: West Lamy

My passport requires no photograph. Experienced play-by-play broadcaster and multimedia sports journalist with years of producing and covering sports. WORLDWIDEWEST is a journey; in this journey my feet don't get blisters, but my shoes do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *